Leal Senado Building
No. 163 Av. Almeida Ribeiro (San Ma Lo),Macau
Originally built in 1784, this was Macao’s first municipal chamber, a function it maintains to the present. The name “Leal Senado” (“Loyal Senate”) derives from the title “City of Our Name of God Macao, There is None More Loyal” which was bestowed by Portuguese King Dom John IV in 1654. The “Leal Senado” Building is neo-classical in design and has retained all its original master walls and primary layout, including the courtyard garden in the back. Inside the building on the first floor there is a ceremonial meeting room that opens onto an elaborate carved library styled after the library of Mafra Convent in Portugal, and a small chapel.
Source : en.macautourism.gov.mo
The building is U-shaped. The right part of the first floor of the building features an exhibition hall, hosting art exhibitions on a regular basis. The convention hall is on the second floor, where the public meetings and press conferences of the former Macau Municipal Council and the current Institute of Civic and Municipal Affairs are held. A public library, opened in 1929, is located at the Northwestern part of the first floor. It is blueprinted after the library of Mafra Convent in Portugal, decorated in classical style. It contains around 18,500 books and specialises in collecting foreign language books in dating from 17th century to the 1950s, in particular those of Portuguese history in Africa and the Far East. The building has retained all its original master walls and primary layout, including the courtyard garden in the back.
It became part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site Historic centre of Macau in 2005.
Source : wikipedia
Opening hours: Gallery: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. (closed on Mondays, open on public holidays),
Garden: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Getting there :Bus 3, 3X, 4, 6A, 8A, 18A, 19, 26A, 33, N1A