Hill Palace Rd, Ernakulam District, Tripunithura, Kerala 682301
Phone: 0484 278 1113
Hill Palace is the largest archaeological museum in Kerala, located at Tripunithura, Kochi, near Karingachira area. It was the Imperial Administrative offices and official residence of Cochin Maharaja. Built in 1865, the Palace complex consists of 49 buildings in the traditional architectural style, spreading across in 54 acres (220,000 m2). The complex has an archaeological museum, a heritage museum, a deer park, a pre-historic park and a children’s park. The campus of the museum is home to several rare species of medicinal plants. Presently the palace has been converted into a museum by The Kerala State Archaeology Department. The palace is about 12 km from Ernakulam mainland and approachable by road and rail.
The Centre for Heritage Studies (CHS); an autonomous research and training institute set up by the Department of Cultural Affairs, Government of Kerala also functions at the site. CHS is designated as the ‘Manuscript Conservation Centre’ (MCC) and Manuscript Resource Centre (MRC) by the National Mission for Manuscripts.
The museum displays 14 categories of exhibits including Crown and ornaments of erst while Cochin royal family, paintings, sculptures in stone and marble, weapons, inscriptions, coins etc. The major share of attractions in this museum are contributed by the Cochin Royal Family with some exhibits from the Paliam Devaswom and the department of Archaeology. It has a gold crown embedded with precious stones and many valuable coins, ornaments, majestic beds and samples of epigraphy. The famous Malayalam movie Manichitrathazhu was shot here.
Source : wikipedia
Visiting hours : 09.00AM to 12.3.0PM and 02.00PM to 05.00PM Monday Closed
Entry : Adult – Rs. 30/- Children (5-12) – Rs. 10/-