St. Dominics Church
St. Dominic’s Square
Founded in 1587 by three Spanish Dominican priests who originally came from Acapulco in Mexico, St.Dominics Church is also connected to the Brotherhood of Our Lady of the Rosary. It was here that the first Portuguese newspaper was published on Chinese soil, A Abelha da China (“The China Bee”), on 12th September 1822. The bell tower, at the back of the building, has been modified into a small Museum of Sacred Art, now exhibiting a collection of around 300 artifacts.
Source : en.macautourism.gov.mo
St.Dominics Church was established in 1587 by three Spanish Dominican priests who arrived from Acapulco, Mexico. It was the scene of violence in 1644, when a Spanish officer—loyal to the King of Spain and opposing the colony’s determination to stay allegiant with Portugal after the dissolution of the Iberian Union—entered St. Domonics church in order to seek refuge from an angry mob. He was promptly murdered at the foot of the altar while mass was being celebrated. Sixty-three years later, in 1707, the Dominicans supported the Pope’s stance with regards to the Chinese Rites controversy. This was in opposition and defiance to the view of the Bishop of Macau, who subsequently excommunicated them. When soldiers were sent to the church in order to uphold this ruling, the friars responded by closing the church for three days and throwing rocks to repel them.
The first Portuguese-language newspaper in China—A Abelha da China (The China Bee)—was published at St. Dominic’s on September 12, 1822. St.Dominics church closed down in 1834 when monastic orders were dissolved and expropriated to the government, who then converted it into barracks, a stable and an office for public works. However, it later reopened and was given many works of sacred art from other religious orders dissolved back in Portugal.
The church underwent renovation in 1997 and a museum was added alongside the church
St.Dominics Church is listed as one of the 29 sites that form the Historic Centre of Macau, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Opening hours : 10.00AM to 0600PM
Getting there : 3,3X,4,6A,8A,18A,19,26A,33,N1A