The Church of Notre Dame of Dijon
2 Place Notre Dame, 21000 Dijon, France
The Church of Notre-Dame of Dijon is a Roman Catholic church in Dijon. Considered a masterpiece of 13th-century Gothic architecture, it is situated at the heart of the preserved old centre of the city. It is located in Place Notre-Dame, near the Palace of the Dukes of Burgundy and opposite the rue Musette.
Work on the church began around 1230. The church contains the statue of Notre-Dame de Bon-Espoir, formerly called the Black Madonna. The church’s decorations also include two symbols of Dijon: the jacquemart (bell-striking automaton) and the owl. The church was classified as a Monument Historique in the List of historic monuments of 1840. The chapel of the Assumption, the sacristy, and the gallery that links them have been listed as Monuments Historiques since 5 July 2002.
The church has a Latin cross floor plan. The central space, flanked by columns, has three levels: six high arcades supported by cylindrical columns, then above that a triforium covered by slabs which serve as the floor to the third level, a gallery with high windows.
The transept is also emphasised. Above a full base there are five lancet windows, and above that, a rose window. At the crossing of the transept there is a lantern tower, comprising a triforium surmounted by eight windows. There are two apsidioles, one at each corner between the arms of the transept and the choir.
The choir has four levels: a base decorated with blind trefoil arcades, then a level with lancet windows, then a triforium, pierced in the 17th century with large oculi, and a final level with high windows.
Source : wikipedia